Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Best time to have kids?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best time to have kids?

I'm a post-bacc premed student and my husband is a 3rd yr med student. We would like to have our first child at the very latest during my 4th yr of med school (right after residency interviews), but ideally we'd like to have our second child then and our first child earlier. Taking into account that I have one more year of premed classes and a yr of applying (my husband and I will be a first yr resident and first yr med student together, respectively), when would be the ideal time to have a child?

My husband seems to think that giving birth during the break between 1st and 2nd yr would be ideal because then I'd have some school under my belt, but my 2nd yr would be much lighter than my 3rd yr. Also, does anyone know if schools are nice about letting you deccelerate to 5 yrs if you want to stay at home for a year? Another option is having the baby right after my med school interviews are over and then deferring a year. This is appealing because I wouldn't have to have a break in my studies.

BTW, we are 24 and 28, and my husband strongly wants to go into a lifestyle specialty with decent hrs. Thanks!!

Re: Best time to have kids?