Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Newborn sleep patterns ... confused

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newborn sleep patterns ... confused

Ok, Jack is 5 weeks old today and doing great ... eating and, uh, emptying well except he just won't SLEEP!

I have no idea what I'm doing, I have no experience with babies and the only guide I have is a couple of books that I've bought. So ... for those of you who have been through this before: can I expect a newborn baby this young to be able to follow some sort of sleep schedule? Or is this just too young to be able to expect any sort of regular sleep pattern? I guess I - very naively - assumed that a baby would sleep when he's tired. Nope, uh uh. I can tell that he's tired because he yawns a lot and seems pretty cranky, but I have the hardest time getting him to sleep! He takes a couple of naps during the daytime and sleeps for 1- or 2-hour stretches at night but definitely doesn't sleep for the 12-16 hours that they say newborns need to sleep. And it sometimes takes forever to get him back to sleep once he wakes up (holding him and walking around the house seems to do the trick every time, but is very frustrating and tiring at 2:00 in the morning!! :z)