Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Question for attorney spouses out there

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for attorney spouses out there

I am a lawyer spouse of a M1 (Is that right? First year medical student?) who left her job. I litigated in the past, but would like to take the time and opportunity to figure out what I want to do when I grow up - ha!

Any lawyer-spouses out there continue to litigate and strive for the partnership track in a firm? If so, how did this work for you and your family? Did any lawyer-spouses take a different route? If so, what did you do?

We are also thinking about starting a family soon, so that is a factor. Ideally, I would like to work in a legal-related field, but not have the pressure of billable hours. But, I also want to have a career that has meaning, and am not just taking work to make money. Am I asking too much?

I am not the type of gal who has been dreaming about being a stay-at-home-mom all her life. Don't get me wrong - I think it is a noble, courageous, and hard path to take. I cannot imagine a more difficult job than to take care of a medical spouse/children/home and stay sane I am simply just not sure that is what is right for me specifically, or at least I won't know until the time comes!

Thoughts, advice, suggestions, comments welcome!