Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

New DSLR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New DSLR

I think we'd like to get a new DSLR, and my parents have offered to buy me one for Christmas. We have a Canon 350D and a couple of lenses - 7-40mm f/4L and a 50mm f/1.8. I know we need more lenses too, at least one with a longer range. I'm still learning how to use it properly, but I think I'll do better with it once I actually have something to take pictures of, like a baby.

Any suggestions for a camera and lenses? I'd like to get another Canon so we can use the lenses we have. I'd also like it to use an SD card - ours now takes Compact Flash, which I hate.
    Last edited by alotofyarn; 11-02-2013, 06:18 PM.
    Allison - professor; wife to a urology attending; mom to baby girl E (11/13), baby boy C (2/16), and a spoiled cat; knitter and hoarder of yarn; photographer

I'm willing to compromise on the SD card, after looking into them more.

The 7D looks like a good choice, maybe the 70D depending on budget, or the T5i if we really want to go down on budget. The 6D could be an option too, but then we'd definitely need to get an external flash (I'd like one anyway).
    Allison - professor; wife to a urology attending; mom to baby girl E (11/13), baby boy C (2/16), and a spoiled cat; knitter and hoarder of yarn; photographer

Comment

I have a Canon 7d and like it. Honestly the rebels are a really good choice right now though