Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Camera upgrade questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Camera upgrade questions

I'm thinking longer-term about upgrading my camera. I have a Nikon d3100 that is several years old and I'm starting to feel its limitations (resolution and print size). It's a fine little entry level, but with a baby on the way I'm itching to take some *really* nice baby photos. I'm a beginner to moderate user, I can shoot in full manual but I'm slow and a bit forgetful at it, I usually shoot in A or S semi-automatic modes for ease. I mostly use it for family and vacation photos, and I really enjoy taking our holiday card photos every year. I'm probably never going to be a power user but I do really value being able to take nice family photos that are better than just snapshots.

This isn't really a $$ priority right now, but I'm just thinking about what I should start saving for.

I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to invest the $1,800 minimum for a d610 (the lowest $ full-frame sensor body) anytime in the next... oh, eight to ten years. If I did this I would probably also invest in some classes and get a little more serious about it. So for right now we're talking about *slightly* better entry level cameras.

The d5300 has 24 MP and a better ISO range than my current 14 MP camera, but the same DX image sensor, so it might feel like a minimal upgrade.