Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Would you think that this was stupid?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would you think that this was stupid?

I will be starting an adult german class tonight with two older couples (in their 50's). They are interested in learning german so that they can eventually travel, but are more interested in being able to talk with each other, etc. I have NO experience teaching german to adults...my whole curriculum is based around children. So....do you think it would be stupid to follow my children's curriculum:

First, I believe in the practice of 'immersion' learning, so I will meet them and only speak german to them. (Won't they be surprised). Of course, I will keep it very simple and do a lot of pointing and showing so they know what I'm talking about.

1. Introduce the alphabet and the sounds of the letters. For children, I use my alphabet puzzle. It is 26 pairs of letters with an object that starts with that letter. A and Apfel (apple) for example. I figured I'd bring the puzzle with me for illustration, but of course not expect them to build the puzzle . I could just show them the A and the Apfel and put them together so they understand the sound of the word and see the picture and move on to the next one after they repeat the sound and word.