Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Wife's first day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wife's first day

So it looks like I'm the resident newbie here. My Wife starts Med School at OSU in Tulsa today, well this week is orientation and next week the real fun begins. Anyway, I just wanted to say hi and get some feedback. We don't have any kids yet so I am wondering how tough this is going to be. I have heard that the first 2 years I pretty much won't see her very often, is this true?

Peace,
    Craig

I guess that depends on how often you see her now. It was a big switch for us to not have evenings and weekends completely free. (My husband worked a "regular" job for a few years before going to med school). Personally, we found the first six months or so of medical school to be the hardest. The first six months were hard because it was such a transition for him to go back to school and be in a rather competitive environment -- he felt out of practice for being a student. I think that second year and fourth year were the best. Second year because he really had the studying part down. Fourth year because it is just a little more laid back and applying to internal medicine residencies wasn't all that stressful (compared to the derm residency application the following year ).

Good luck! Let us know how it goes!
    You're in good company, there are lots of medical spouses here without kids and a handful of great Mr. MDs.

Comment