We are definitely back in the school routine, and life is better than I could have expected! Everything is so much easier now that the kids ride the bus to and from school (if they don't have practice after school, that is)! I can't believe I can feel this relaxed even though summer is over. Something that I didn't expect with my kids' change of schools is that their new schools have a policy that they don't give much homework.....what a HUGE relief!!!! Yes, I do teach in the same school system, but as a choir teacher I don't give homework anyway, so this issue was not on my radar! Apparently, studies have shown no link between increased achievement and homework, so my kids have had hardly any. This was not the case at their old school, which made every weekday afternoon/evening a hard slog. I am really thankful!

My oldest son was asked to the homecoming dance by a girl (a year older). Apparently she asked him in the hallway between classes and he thought it sounded like fun. We are pretty good friends with her family and he has known her for the past four years. They are going as "friends", so I guess there is nothing to worry about....but it is a big "first"! He is definitely going through some teenage stuff and some days it is hard to get a civil word out of him. Travis has been on him about being kind and polite, no matter how he feels, and this week has been better. There are days when I really miss my little boys, and then there are days that I really enjoy the age they are now. It is bittersweet! Luke is doing well overall. He went to a party last weekend and is finding more friends.