Announcement

Collapse

Facebook Forum Migration

Our forums have migrated to Facebook. If you are already an iMSN forum member you will be grandfathered in.

To access the Call Room and Marriage Matters, head to: https://m.facebook.com/groups/400932...eferrer=search

You can find the health and fitness forums here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/133538...eferrer=search

Private parenting discussions are here: https://m.facebook.com/groups/382903...eferrer=search

We look forward to seeing you on Facebook!
See more
See less

Flash

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flash

I'll start by saying I'm a total novice. I have a dSLR and I shoot in "P mode" but that's about as good as I get. I also do some basic editing in Photoshop Elements.

So, my question: While I prefer natural light photography, we live in a wooded home and I also do like to take photos at night if DD is doing something cute. So, the flash on my camera is on a lot because I can't get a good crisp shot without it. I'm just using the stock flash (pops up from the camera) on my Nikon D400 but of course it washes her out and makes her eyes look crazy. I know that pro photographers sometimes have flashes that turn to "bounce light" off of things and I'm sure there are other solutions. Can anyone recommend any approaches or products that lessen these problems? (I know they won't go away completely, that's the nature of flash).
    Married to a Urology Attending! (that is an understated exclamation point)
    Mama to C (Jan 2012), D (Nov 2013), and R (April 2016). Consulting and homeschooling are my day jobs.

I have similar problems and can't afford a better flash. I keep eyeing this flash diffuser and wondering if it would help or if I'd be wasting my $20. Thoughts from the pros?
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00110...=I1ZIMJ04EN157
    Laurie
    My team: DH (anesthesiologist), DS (9), DD (8)

Comment